Monday, February 17

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor

Maybe One Day by Melissa Kantor
Release Date: February 18, 2014
Publisher: HarperTeen
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 400

Summary: Critically acclaimed author Melissa Kantor masterfully captures the joy of friendship, the agony of loss, and the unique experience of being a teenager in this poignant new novel about a girl grappling with her best friend's life-threatening illness.

Zoe and her best friend, Olivia, have always had big plans for the future, none of which included Olivia getting sick. Still, Zoe is determined to put on a brave face and be positive for her friend.

Even when she isn't sure what to say.

Even when Olivia misses months of school.

Even when Zoe starts falling for Calvin, Olivia's crush.

The one thing that keeps Zoe moving forward is knowing that Olivia will beat this, and everything will go back to the way it was before. It has to. Because the alternative is too terrifying for her to even imagine.

In this incandescent page-turner, which follows in the tradition of The Fault in Our Stars, Melissa Kantor artfully explores the idea that the worst thing to happen to you might not be something that is actually happening to you. Raw, irreverent, and honest, Zoe's unforgettable voice and story will stay with readers long after the last page is turned.

My Thoughts: I had a feeling going into this one, it would be emotional. And, it was!

We are introduced to Zoe and Olivia who both have been dancers most of their lives. They are best friends and they have done everything together over the years. They have grown up together and spent most of their days together. Until their lives change drastically. They get cut from dancing and they both have to find new paths.

But the paths don’t go exactly as planned. Zoe has tried a few things but nothing really sticks. Nothing can really replace dance and she won’t even do it on the side now. Its basically cut from her life. Olivia still teaches a dance class and she hasn’t cut it completely. I also liked some of the secondary characters. I liked Olivia’s brother and her brother’s best friend Calvin. They were both such cute characters.

Calvin was awesome! He wasn’t in very much of the novel but the scenes with him, I adored. I loved his personality and I loved how he could make me both laugh and swoon. Even though Zoe thought he was a jerk, I loved him!

Well, things take a turn in Zoe and Olivia’s life and one of them gets sick. Its horrible. She has cancer and her whole life changes but it also changes everyone around her. I had such a hard time watching everyone struggle. I wanted to cry so many times throughout the novel and a few times I did tear up. Maybe One Day is cut into segments so we see how things are going in the summer, winter, etc. Days pass by, months fly by, and things happen so quickly.

I was devastated by this novel. Its a wonderful novel, but its so freaking emotional. And I just wanted to throw it a few times instead of cry! It was sooo hard for me!

I loved the characters in this one. I did like the plot even though it was sad and hard to read about it.

Overall: I loved this one, despite how rough it was. I enjoyed the characters and their personalities. I loved Calvin. I loved how things happened with Calvin.

Even though this one was very emotional, I think its a must read for everyone!

Cover: Love it! Its just perfect. I love the people on front and I love all the colors. Its great for this one!! 

What I'd Give It:

No comments:


♥♥♥♥♥♥♥Princess Bookie♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ | Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial License | Dandy Dandilion Designed by Simply Fabulous Blogger Templates