Sunday, January 25

A Fractured Light (Beautiful Dark #2) by Jocelyn Davies

A Fractured Light (Beautiful Dark #2) by Jocelyn Davies
Release Date: September 25,2012
Publisher:  HarperTeen
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 352

Summary: When she wakes up in unfamiliar surroundings, Skye knows something terrible has happened to her. It's not until she hears Asher, the dark, rebellious angel she fell in love with, that the memories come flooding back. She tries to put the past behind her, but she knows she'll be forever haunted by the ruthless betrayal that almost took her life.

Skye returns home, but with the knowledge of who she really is, nothing can ever be the same. As she tests the limits of her newfound powers, Skye discovers that she's capable of far more than anyone could have imagined. Both the Order and the Rebellion want her for their side as war between the factions looms. She can't forget the terrifying truth she now knows about the Order, but something holds her back from embracing the Rebellion.

A Fractured Light picks up right after A Beautiful Dark's shocking cliffhanger ending and is perfect for fans of Lauren Kate's Fallen and Becca Fitzpatrick's Hush, Hush saga.  

My Thoughts:  I really enjoyed A Beautiful Dark so I was excited to read this one! But I waited quite a long time between books to start! I was a little lost when I started it but I got right back into the story and who the characters were!

We are back with Skye and her friends.  Oh Cassie, Dan, and Ian, I still loved you guys! But most of all, Asher and Devin! Oh Asher! I love you! I also still like Devin but I never really felt connected to him very much in this one.

Skye is still in a bind. Both sides are still fighting for her and she loves Asher but she wants to make the right decision. The right decision for her, not what everybody else wants.

I really enjoyed this one. I even enjoyed the scenes with Raven, and the last scene with Raven, wow. I really liked that one. I loved how Skye finally connected with her.

Usually sophomore novels fall in a slump for me and even though I didn’t enjoy this one as much as I hoped, I still enjoyed it, and it was a good novel to read before we get to the conclusion.

I flew right through this one. I loved the secrets we find out. And most of all, I loved the ending. It put everything in perspective and made me excited to read the last novel in the series! Bring it on!

Overall:   I loved being back in Skye’s world. I loved seeing Asher and Devin again.  I’d probably give this book a 3.5 cupcake rating, but since I don’t do halfsies, I’ll bump it up to a 4. I can’t wait for the next one!
Cover:  Like it! This covers are so pretty! I love them!

What I’d Give It:

Monday, January 19


Hey Guys!

Just wanted to let you know I'll be a little distant the next few weeks. I do already have some posts scheduled though.

My mom passed away last night. I now have lost both of my parents. She was my best friend. 

I'm devastated and I can't stop crying. 

Just wanted to let everyone know! 

Boys Like You by Juliana Stone

Boys Like You by Juliana Stone
Release Date: May 6, 2014  
Publisher: Sourcebooks Fire
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 288

Summary: One mistake.

And everything changes.

For Monroe Blackwell, one small mistake has torn her family apart –leaving her empty and broken. There’s a hole in her heart that nothing can fill. That no one can fill. And a summer in Louisiana with her Grandma isn’t going to change that…

Nathan Everets knows heartache first-hand when a car accident leaves his best friend in a coma. And it’s his fault. He should be the one lying in the hospital. The one who will never play guitar again. He doesn’t deserve forgiveness, and a court-appointed job at the Blackwell B&B isn’t going to change that…

Captivating and hopeful, this achingly poignant novel brings together two lost souls struggling with grief and guilt – looking for acceptance, so they can find forgiveness.

My Thoughts: I really enjoyed Boys Like You! I loved Monroe and Nathan both! Monroe is staying with her grandmother for a while. She had troubles back home and made a huge mistake. A sad troubling mistake that changed her life.  Nathan also made a mistake and they are both thrown together when Nathan comes to work for Monroe’s grandmother.

I loved the aspect of Nathan’s best friend. I liked learning about him and what he was like. I want to know more about him. I want to meet him. Get to know him! I loved the little scenes, especially the swimming one. So romantic and cute!

This was a really deep novel but also very romantic and cute. I loved how deep it went but I also loved how Monroe and Nathan interacted with one another even though things weren't perfect. They both had their own demons to face.

Some novels just stick with you and Boys Like You stuck with me. I’m still thinking about it days later. I don’t want to tell you everything so this is a short review. I really loved it a lot and I can’t wait to read more from this author!

Overall: I read this one fast because it was sooo good. I really enjoyed it. If you like contemps, you’ll probably enjoy this one!  Oh Nathan, so adorable! I'd probably give this one a 4.5 cupcake rating!
Cover:  Like it! I think it fits right into the story!

What I’d Give It:

Tuesday, January 13

When (Death Date) by Victoria Laurie

When (Death Date) by Victoria Laurie
Release Date: January 13, 2015
Publisher:  Disney-Hyperion
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages:  336

Summary: Pretty Little Liars meets Medium in this fast-paced thriller and fantastic YA debut from a New York Times bestselling author

Maddie Fynn is a shy high school junior, cursed with an eerie intuitive ability: she sees a series of unique digits hovering above the foreheads of each person she encounters. Her earliest memories are marked by these numbers, but it takes her father's premature death for Maddie and her family to realize that these mysterious digits are actually death dates, and just like birthdays, everyone has one.

Forced by her alcoholic mother to use her ability to make extra money, Maddie identifies the quickly approaching death date of one client's young son, but because her ability only allows her to see the when and not the how, she's unable to offer any more insight. When the boy goes missing on that exact date, law enforcement turns to Maddie.

Soon, Maddie is entangled in a homicide investigation, and more young people disappear and are later found murdered. A suspect for the investigation, a target for the murderer, and attracting the attentions of a mysterious young admirer who maybe connected to it all, Maddie's whole existence is about to be turned upside down. Can she right things before it's too late?

My Thoughts: When I read this novel, it was titled Death Date. I’m not sure if it went through a title change or not! I think it might go through a cover change too (I'm reviewing it early).

I really liked this one! I loved Maddie Fynn. She was such a remarkable and caring girl! And very unique!

Maddie can see people’s death dates. They hover around their heads. She can see them in person and in photos! Pretty awesome, right? Maddie lives with her mother and she does this little stunt as a side job to earn extra cash!

Maddie also has a best friend named Stubby. Stubby was a neat character. I liked him. There was also a boy named Aiden who Maddie had her eye on.

When Maddie learns of a client’s kid dying, things go haywire and the client somewhat blames her. This puts the FBI on her trail and they look to her and Stubby for the crime. Things are too linked to them for her to have nothing to do with it! And then more kids start dying and things go nuts!

Overall: I really enjoyed this one! I thought the story flowed nicely.  The characters were intriguing and the plot was interesting! And I really enjoyed the last few pages!

Cover:  Like it! I’d probably pick it up in the bookstore to see what its about.

What I’d Give It:

Monday, January 5

Sea Of Shadows (Age Of Legends #1) by Kelley Armstrong

Sea Of Shadows (Age Of Legends #1)  by Kelley Armstrong
Release Date: April 8, 2014  
Publisher: HarperCollins
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 416

Summary:Kelley Armstrong, #1 New York Times bestselling author, takes an exciting new direction with this big, breathtaking blend of fantasy, romance, horror, and pulse-pounding action, perfect for fans of Graceling and Game of Thrones.

Twin sisters Moria and Ashyn were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker of Edgewood, beginning with their sixteenth birthday. Trained in fighting and in the secret rites of the spirits, they lead an annual trip into the Forest of the Dead. There, the veil between the living world and the beyond is thinnest, and the girls pay respect to the spirits who have passed.

But this year, their trip goes dreadfully wrong.

With all the heart-stopping romance and action that have made her a #1New York Times bestselling author, and set in an unforgettably rich and dangerous world, this first epic book in the Age of Legends trilogy will appeal to Kelley Armstrong's legions of fans around the world and win her many new ones.

My Thoughts: I wanted to outright love Sea Of Shadows. So much, to give it 5 cupcakes.

I am giving it 4 cupcakes. I didn’t love it as much as I wanted too.

We are introduced to sisters Moria and Ashlyn. They were marked at birth to become the Keeper and the Seeker on their sixteenth birthday.

I liked both girls! I think I may have liked Ashlyn a bit more though. She was the shyer one while Moria was outspoken and kind of loud in a way. I also loved their animals!!! At times I laughed at them and at times I wanted to cry for them.

Their quiet little hometown is ruined. Everyone is murdered and only a few people survive.  

I also loved both love interests. Gavril and Ronan. They each looked out for the girls and wanted what was best for them. They were so different from one another but they both respected and liked their main girl.

So much happened in this one. It was hard to keep up at times but I flew through this book while reading. Each night before bed, I’d start reading and not stop until I actually fell asleep. It did go pretty fast.

Moria and Ashlyn both have their own dilemmas to face and I liked the back and forth on the characters. One minute, we were reading about Moria, the next about Ashlyn and I liked that.  It kept me entertained.

The reason I didn’t give this one five cupcakes I guess is because even though I flew through it, and I liked it there were a few times I wanted to skip ahead. Some things didn’t really interest me as much as I hoped.

I did enjoy this one and I can’t wait to read the next in the series!

Overall: I loved Ashlyn a little bit more than Moria. And I loved Ronan a little more than Gavril so you can probably guess which chapters I enjoyed more. I liked Armstrong's writing. I’m excited to see where the story goes next.

Cover:  Like it but if I saw in a bookstore, not sure I’d pick up or not. But since this was recommended to me, I’m glad I did.

What I’d Give It:


♥♥♥♥♥♥♥Princess Bookie♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ | Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial License | Dandy Dandilion Designed by Simply Fabulous Blogger Templates