Tuesday, September 9

Kiss Of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick

Kiss Of Broken Glass by Madeleine Kuderick
Release Date: September 9, 2014
Publisher:  HarperTeen
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages: 224

Summary: Madeleine Kuderick’s gripping debut is a darkly beautiful and lyrical novel in verse, perfect for fans of Sonya Sones and Laurie Halse Anderson. Kiss of Broken Glass pulses with emotion and lingers long after the last page.

In the next seventy-two hours, Kenna may lose everything—her friends, her freedom, and maybe even herself. One kiss of the blade was all it took to get her sent to the psych ward for seventy-two hours. There she will face her addiction to cutting, though the outcome is far from certain.

When fifteen-year-old Kenna is found cutting herself in the school bathroom, she is sent to a facility for mandatory psychiatric watch. There, Kenna meets other kids like her—her roommate, Donya, who’s there for her fifth time; the birdlike Skylar; and Jag, a boy cute enough to make her forget her problems . . . for a moment.

My Thoughts: Kiss Of Broken Glass was an interesting read! We are introduced to Kenna who cuts herself. She is in a psych ward getting help. She also meets a few others with problems of their own.

This novel is told in verse. So, we switch topics a lot and we jump around a lot.

This was a very open and interesting novel about cutting and about Kenna’s feelings.

I liked that it was in verse but I just had a hard trouble really connecting with the main character and the storyline. I finished it, and it was a very fast read for me but I felt like it just wasn’t the right read for me and that is alright!

I know a lot of people will enjoy this one and it does have a very important message!

Overall:  It was alright. Just not my type of novel. I can see where  a lot of teens will relate to this one! Even though it was unique and something I haven’t read about before, I’m only giving it 3 cupcakes because it just wasn’t “right” for me since I read more paranormals and contemps!

Cover:   Like it! Its dark and haunting and I’d definitely pick it up in the store!

What I’d Give It:

No comments:


♥♥♥♥♥♥♥Princess Bookie♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ | Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial License | Dandy Dandilion Designed by Simply Fabulous Blogger Templates