Monday, May 25

The Wrong Side Of Right by Jenn Marie Thorne

The Wrong Side Of Right by Jenn Marie Thorn
Release Date:March 17, 2015
Publisher: Dial Books
Age Group: Young Adult
Pages:  400

Summary:  Fans of Sarah Dessen and Huntley Fitzpatrick will enjoy this smart debut young adult novel, equal parts My Life Next Door and The Princess Diaries—plus a dash of Aaron Sorkin.


Kate Quinn’s mom died last year, leaving Kate parentless and reeling. So when the unexpected shows up in her living room, Kate must confront another reality she never thought possible—or thought of at all. Kate does have a father. He’s a powerful politician. And he’s running for U.S. President. Suddenly, Kate’s moving in with a family she never knew she had, joining a campaign in support of a man she hardly knows, and falling for a rebellious boy who may not have the purest motives. This is Kate’s new life. But who is Kate? When what she truly believes flies in the face of the campaign’s talking points, she must decide. Does she turn to the family she barely knows, the boy she knows but doesn’t necessarily trust, or face a third, even scarier option?


Set against a backdrop of politics, family, and first love, this is a story of personal responsibility, complicated romance, and trying to discover who you are even as everyone tells you who you should be.


My Thoughts:  The Wrong Side Of Right was a book I was really looking forward too! I ended up reading it soon after it was released! And, I really liked it!


We are introduced to Kate who lost her mom a little while ago. She’s been sad about it. She now lives with another family member and their small little family. She goes to school, does her homework, is an overall good kid.


One day she comes home from school and finds newscasters lined up down her street. She’s not sure what is going on.


She soon learns that her dad is a famous political person and this changes things for Kate completely. Her dad wants to get to know her and bring her into his life. He also has his own family; a wife and two young kids.


Boy, Kate didn’t know what she was getting herself into. Kate is thrust into the political world. She also develops a crush on a certain boy. I liked that part!


I liked almost everything about this book. I liked her crush.  I liked her new family. I especially liked her brother and sister. They were a riot.


I also liked most of the politics and following the campaign, though at times I did get a little bored with that aspect.


I really loved Kate and how strong of a person she was.


Overall:  This was such a cute contemp. But, it was also somewhat deep too. There was a lot going on and you really had to follow along. I thought it was a pretty good one though! Glad I read it!
Cover: Love it! I like the colors and just the way it looks! I’d pick it up and read it again!


What I’d Give It:

1 comment:

A Flurry of Ponderings said...

I never really read what this one was about, just liked the cover. I am definitely more excited to read it now!
Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

 

♥♥♥♥♥♥♥Princess Bookie♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ | Creative Commons Attribution- Noncommercial License | Dandy Dandilion Designed by Simply Fabulous Blogger Templates